EpilepsyRx

ACTH (repository corticotropin)

Acthar Gel

Limited use · infantile epileptic spasms syndrome (IESS)

Time-limited hormonal treatment for IESS under specialist supervision, followed by a taper. “Limited use” describes the treatment scope and duration; it is not an evidence rating.

DailyMed-verified antiseizure indications

Indication / use

Label / evidence summary
Acthar Gel: monotherapy for infantile epileptic spasms syndrome (IESS), termed “infantile spasms” in the U.S. label, in children younger than 2 years. Use the multidose vial intramuscularly; SelfJect is not for this indication.
Role
Limited-course therapy
Class
Hormonal therapy — ACTH / melanocortin receptor agonism

Indications checked 26 September 2026. Product, route, age, and treatment-role limits apply. A DailyMed listing alone does not establish FDA approval.

Formulations & strengths

U.S. products unless another country is named. Strengths are per unit or stated volume.

Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

Dosing & administration

Adult / product-specific schedule
No adult epilepsy regimen in this profile. Adult labeled indications use different schedules.
Pediatric
Acthar IESS regimen (U.S. label: infantile spasms): 150 USP units/m²/day IM, divided as 75 units/m² per dose twice daily for 14 days, followed by a gradual taper over approximately 2 weeks.
Titration / repeat dosing
Calculate body surface area and verify USP units and mL independently. Use the vial only. Do not abruptly stop; follow a written specialist taper and adrenal-insufficiency plan. Confirm complete clinical and sleep-EEG response at about 14 days; escalate promptly if incomplete.

Practical administration

Product instructions
Refrigerate the vial; warm between the hands as instructed. IM use for IESS; never IV. Train caregivers in measuring the dose, injection technique, infection precautions and stress-dose/adrenal instructions.

Dose adjustment & concentrations

Renal impairment
No standard renal dose algorithm established; review product precautions and monitor clinical status.
Hepatic impairment
Individualize with specialist review; consult the exact product label.
Serum reference information
No established antiseizure therapeutic serum concentration target.

Safety

Boxed warning
No boxed warning in the current Acthar label; major infection and endocrine risks still apply.
Contraindications
IV administration; suspected congenital infection in infants under 2; live/live-attenuated vaccines at immunosuppressive doses; porcine-protein sensitivity; systemic fungal infection; ocular herpes simplex; scleroderma; osteoporosis; recent surgery; peptic ulcer history/presence; heart failure; uncontrolled hypertension; primary adrenal insufficiency or adrenal hyperfunction.
Serious precautions & monitoring
Monitor infection, blood pressure, glucose, sodium/potassium, weight/edema and adrenal suppression. Infection may be masked. Provide a steroid alert and illness/stress plan; review varicella exposure/immunity and immunizations before treatment. Withdrawal can precipitate adrenal crisis.

Common / selected adverse effects

  • Infection
  • Irritability and sleep/behavior changes
  • Hypertension, edema, weight gain
  • Hyperglycemia and hypokalemia
  • Cushingoid effects and adrenal suppression

Drug interactions: toxicity & clinical action

Partner / combinationClinical effectClinical action
Potassium-wasting diureticsGreater electrolyte loss, especially hypokalemia.Monitor potassium, blood pressure and fluid status.
Live vaccines / other immunosuppressantsLive vaccines can cause infection during immunosuppressive treatment; vaccine response may be blunted.Avoid live vaccines at immunosuppressive doses; coordinate immunization/infection planning. Formal drug-interaction studies are lacking.

Pregnancy & contraception

Fetal / neonatal risk
Maternal repository corticotropin stimulates corticosteroid production and may cause fetal harm. Reported corticosteroid-associated concerns include impaired fetal growth and neonatal adrenal suppression; these maternal-exposure risks are distinct from treating an infant with ACTH.
Pregnancy / postpartum monitoring
After maternal use, observe the newborn for adrenal insufficiency.

Clinical evidence

Research summaries describe studied populations and outcomes; they do not add indications or constitute treatment recommendations.

Direct pivotal trial Guideline-supported off-label use

Trial summary

Primary endpoint
For infantile epileptic spasms syndrome, clinically meaningful response requires complete cessation of spasms plus resolution of the pathologic EEG pattern, assessed promptly under a syndrome-specific protocol; partial frequency reduction is not an adequate endpoint.
Results
The current profile does not pool dissimilar ACTH products, doses, or study definitions into one effect estimate. Open the U.S. product label and U.S. infantile-spasms sources for regimen-specific results.
Confidence intervals
A single applicable confidence interval is not reported across the heterogeneous product-label and syndrome studies cited here.
Discontinuations
A single trial-specific discontinuation rate is not reported across the cited ACTH evidence; infection, hypertension, hyperglycemia, adrenal suppression, and product-specific adverse reactions require active monitoring.
Exposure duration
Acute-response trials and protocols generally assess clinical and EEG response over approximately 2 weeks, followed by a prescribed product-specific taper; this is not chronic maintenance exposure.
Seizure freedom
For IESS, assess complete clinical AND EEG response; partial seizure reduction is insufficient.

Trial publications

Comparative evidence

Findings
See the linked syndrome guidance and studies; do not infer equivalent efficacy across different hormone products, doses or syndromes.

Mechanism of action

  • Repository corticotropin stimulates the adrenal cortex to secrete glucocorticoids and other corticosteroids. It also binds melanocortin receptors.
  • The mechanism suppressing IESS is not established; do not describe ACTH as simply a GABA receptor drug or assume its efficacy is identical to oral corticosteroids.
  • Acthar is a porcine-derived mixture of ACTH-related peptides in a depot formulation; synthetic ACTH products and diagnostic cosyntropin are not interchangeable dosing substitutes.

Pharmacology

Adult values unless specified. Vd/F denotes apparent oral distribution volume.

Pharmacokinetics

Bioavailability
Repository corticotropin gel: absolute IM bioavailability has not been adequately characterized. Oral bioavailability is not applicable to this injectable peptide product.
Elimination half-life
Acthar Gel product pharmacokinetics are not adequately characterized. The label cites about 15 minutes for circulating ACTH after IV administration; that is NOT the half-life of the IM repository gel.
Volume of distribution
Not adequately characterized for repository corticotropin gel in the product label.
Active metabolite(s)
No established active drug-metabolite contribution. Stimulated adrenal corticosteroids are endogenous downstream hormones, not metabolites of corticotropin.
Active-metabolite half-life
Not established / not applicable to a defined active drug metabolite.
Protein binding
Not adequately characterized for the repository product.
Metabolism / elimination
Peptide disposition is not adequately characterized for the gel; pharmacologic effects include stimulation of adrenal steroid production.

The duration of adrenal stimulation and the prescribed taper cannot be inferred from the short circulating-ACTH half-life.

Molecular structure

Repository corticotropin is a peptide mixture; a single small-molecule structural drawing does not represent the product.

Product history

Initial U.S. approval
Initial Acthar approval 1952; infantile-spasms indication added 2010.
Market / formulation history
Availability varies by product and jurisdiction.
Brands
Acthar Gel
Manufacturer / marketer
Acthar Gel
Generic availability
Product-dependent.
Related drugs
See mechanism and syndrome guidance.

Sources & review status

Indications and DailyMed PDFs checked: 2026-09-26. Other profile sources reviewed: 2026-09-15 · label revision noted at that review: See linked product label. This is a draft reference; final review is pending.