Rx
EpilepsyRxEvidence-linked treatment reference

Antiseizure medication database

Find medications by clinical use, age, formulation or mechanism. Compare up to four.

⌕

Carbonic anhydrase inhibition; proposed CNS and acid–base effects

Half-life: ~4 h (UK tablet SmPC)

Absence · Centrencephalic epilepsies (historical label term)

Adjunctive use under historical label terminology. Immediate-release tablets and IV only; extended-release capsules have no seizure indication.

Representative sources: [1] [2]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

2 matching product / use records

Acetazolamide immediate-release tablets
Pediatric safety / effectiveness not established; no numeric age boundary · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive centrencephalic epilepsies (petit mal, unlocalized seizures).

Acetazolamide for injection
Pediatric safety / effectiveness not established; no numeric age boundary · Maintenance · U.S. label
Same labeled adjunctive epilepsy indication; not a labeled rescue or status-epilepticus regimen.

Hormonal therapy; stimulates adrenal corticosteroid production; antiseizure mechanism incompletely understood.

Half-life: Depot gel: not characterized

Limited use · infantile epileptic spasms syndrome (IESS)

Infantile epileptic spasms syndrome (IESS)
Sources: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Acthar Gel multidose vial
Younger than 2 years · Limited-course therapy · U.S. label
Finite hormonal course; label requires age younger than 2 years, IM administration, and a taper. SelfJect excluded.

High-affinity SV2A binding; downstream antiseizure pathway unresolved

Half-life: ~9 h

Focal seizures
Sources: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

2 matching product / use records

Briviact tablet/solution
1 month and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Briviact IV
1 month and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Temporary replacement when oral use is not feasible.

Human antiseizure mechanism unresolved; proposed non-CB1/CB2 pathways

Half-life: CBD: 56–61 h terminal; active 7-OH-CBD: 24.7–31.7 h

Lennox-Gastaut syndrome · Dravet syndrome · Tuberous sclerosis syndrome
Sources: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Epidiolex solution
1 year and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Use- and voltage-dependent sodium-channel inhibition

Half-life: Carbamazepine: 12–17 h repeated dosing; active epoxide: ~6 h after direct dosing

Focal seizures · Generalized tonic-clonic seizures
Representative source: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

May aggravate absence or myoclonic seizures; review syndrome before use (NICE NG217, UK guidance).

2 matching product / use records

Tegretol IR tablet/suspension
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Legacy label has pediatric schedules, including <6 years; no single lower age threshold specified. Age filter excludes unknown thresholds.

Tegretol XR
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Legacy label has pediatric schedules, including <6 years; no single lower age threshold specified. Age filter excludes unknown thresholds.

1,5-benzodiazepine: GABA-A positive allosteric modulation

Half-life: Clobazam: 36–42 h; active N-desmethylclobazam: 71–82 h

Lennox-Gastaut syndrome
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

3 matching product / use records

Clobazam tablet
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Onfi oral suspension
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive LGS therapy; 2.5 mg/mL.

Sympazan oral film
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive LGS therapy; film strengths differ from tablets.

1,4-benzodiazepine: GABA-A positive allosteric modulation

Half-life: 30–40 h

Lennox-Gastaut syndrome · Myoclonic seizures · Absence · Akinetic seizures
Representative source: [1]
Brand reference: Klonopin tablets ↗
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Klonopin tablet
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Absence only after succinimide failure; label does not state a single minimum age.

Converts to active nordiazepam; enhances GABA-A-mediated inhibition

Half-life: Parent rapidly converted; active nordiazepam 40–50 h

Focal seizures

Adjunctive focal-seizure therapy; not recommended below age 9.

Representative source: [1]
Brand reference: Tranxene T-Tab ↗
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Clorazepate dipotassium tablets
9 years and older; label does not recommend use below 9 · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive therapy only; dosing differs at ages 9–12 and over 12.

1,4-benzodiazepine: GABA-A positive allosteric modulation

Half-life: Valtoco 49.2 h; Diastat 46 h; Libervant 86 h; oral up to 48 h; IV ~15 h at age 18; active nordazepam 71–147 h by product study

Acute repetitive seizures / seizure clusters · Status epilepticus · Convulsive disorders (adjunctive oral use)
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

5 matching product / use records

Valtoco nasal spray
2 years and older · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label

Diazepam rectal gel
2 years and older · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label

Diazepam injection
Exact minimum age not mapped · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label
Use route/product-specific pediatric protocol; exact age threshold not mapped.

Libervant buccal film
2 years and older (younger than 6 years) · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label
Seizure clusters in ages 2–5; administer to the cheek per instructions.

Valium oral tablets
6 months and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive treatment of convulsive disorders; not sole therapy. Safety and effectiveness below 6 months are not established. Not a rapid seizure-cluster rescue formulation.

Active sodium-channel modulator; administered as the acetate prodrug

Half-life: Active eslicarbazepine moiety: 13–20 h

Focal seizures
Representative source: [1]
Brand reference: Aptiom ↗
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Aptiom tablet
4 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Thalamic T-type calcium-current reduction: a proposed antiabsence mechanism

Half-life: ~38–67 h adults; ~25–42 h children

Absence
Representative sources: [1] [2]
Brand reference: Zarontin capsules ↗
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

Treats absence seizures; does not provide broad protection against generalized tonic-clonic seizures.

2 matching product / use records

Zarontin capsule
3 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Ethosuximide oral solution
3 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
250 mg/5 mL; absence seizure treatment.

Discontinued

Limits propagation of seizure activity; phenytoin-like action proposed

Half-life: 3–9 h at low concentrations; nonlinear kinetics

Generalized tonic-clonic seizures · Focal seizures

Historical FDA indications; Peganone is discontinued in the U.S.

Sources: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Peganone tablets (Discontinued)
No numeric age limits specified in this label · Maintenance · Discontinued · historical U.S. label
Historical label: tonic-clonic and complex partial seizures; not current product availability.

Binds FKBP12; inhibits mTORC1 signaling

Half-life: ~30 h

Tuberous sclerosis syndrome

TSC-associated focal seizures only; age ≥2 years. Seizure indication applies to tablets for oral suspension.

Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

2 matching product / use records

Afinitor Disperz tablets for oral suspension
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive treatment of TSC-associated focal-onset seizures only.

Everolimus tablets for oral suspension (generic)
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive TSC-associated focal-onset seizures; representative generic suspension-tablet label.

Discontinued

Enhances KCNQ (Kv7.2–Kv7.5) potassium currents

Half-life: Parent 7–11 h; active N-acetyl metabolite 7–11 h

Focal seizures

Historical adult adjunctive focal-seizure indication; Potiga is discontinued and Trobalt’s EU authorization was withdrawn.

Sources: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Potiga tablets (Discontinued)
18 years and older (historical label) · Maintenance · Discontinued · historical U.S. label
Historical restricted adjunctive use after several alternatives proved inadequate; retinal risks required specific benefit–risk assessment.

Proposed NMDA-receptor modulation; full antiseizure mechanism unknown

Half-life: 20–23 h

Focal seizures · Lennox-Gastaut syndrome
Representative source: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

2 matching product / use records

Felbatol tablet/suspension
14 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Severe refractory epilepsy; specialist risk acknowledgment.

Felbatol suspension/tablet
2 years and older (through 14 years) · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive pediatric LGS; severe refractory epilepsy.

Serotonergic pharmacology; proposed sigma-1 contribution

Half-life: Fenfluramine: ~20 h; active norfenfluramine: ~30 h

Dravet syndrome · Lennox-Gastaut syndrome
Sources: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Fintepla solution
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

α2δ calcium-channel-subunit ligand; no direct GABA-receptor agonism

Half-life: 5–7 h

Focal seizures
Representative source: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

May aggravate absence or myoclonic seizures; review syndrome before use (NICE NG217, UK guidance).

1 matching product / use record

Neurontin capsule/tablet/solution
3 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive therapy.

Neurosteroid GABA-A positive allosteric modulation

Half-life: ~34 h terminal; context varies

CDKL5 deficiency disorder
Sources: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Ztalmy 50 mg/mL oral suspension
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Dose by weight, including the ≤28 kg boundary; give with food.

Enhancement of slow sodium-channel inactivation in vitro

Half-life: ~13 h adults (IR/IV)

Focal seizures · Generalized tonic-clonic seizures
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

6 matching product / use records

Vimpat tablet/solution
1 month and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Vimpat IV
1 month and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Vimpat tablet/solution
4 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures.

Vimpat IV
4 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures.

Motpoly XR — adults
17 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Focal monotherapy/adjunctive; GTCS adjunctive. Once-daily dosing.

Motpoly XR — pediatric weight-based eligibility
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Pediatric label requires weight ≥50 kg; a minimum age is not mapped. Verify body weight.

Sodium-channel inhibition with reduced excitatory transmitter release

Half-life: ~25–33 h; strongly interaction-dependent

Focal seizures · Generalized tonic-clonic seizures · Lennox-Gastaut syndrome
Representative sources: [1] [2]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

Lamotrigine can occasionally worsen myoclonic seizures (NICE NG217). Monitor if myoclonus/JME is present.

2 matching product / use records

Lamictal IR/ODT/dispersible
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive; IR conversion to monotherapy is labeled from age 16 under specified regimens.

Lamictal XR
13 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive; focal conversion to monotherapy has separate instructions.

SV2A binding; modulation of synaptic vesicle function

Half-life: 6–8 h adults

Focal seizures · Generalized tonic-clonic seizures · Myoclonic seizures
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

6 matching product / use records

Keppra tablet / oral solution
1 month and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Keppra tablet / oral solution
6 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive treatment of primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures in idiopathic generalized epilepsy.

Keppra tablet / oral solution
12 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive JME.

Keppra XR
12 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Once-daily XR; swallow whole.

Elepsia XR
12 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
1,000/1,500 mg whole XR tablets; follow exact conversion instructions.

Spritam dispersible tablet
4 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Focal label ≥4 years; not recommended at weight ≤20 kg. Other labeled seizure types have older age thresholds.

1,4-benzodiazepine: GABA-A positive allosteric modulation

Half-life: ~12–14 h

Status epilepticus
Representative source: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Ativan injection
18 years and older · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label
Adult status epilepticus; pediatric safety and effectiveness are not established in the label.

Succinimide; active N-desmethylmethsuximide blocks T-type calcium channels

Half-life: Parent ~1.4 h; active N-desmethyl metabolite ~38–72 h (small studies)

Absence

Labeled for absence seizures refractory to other drugs.

Brand reference: Celontin capsules ↗
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

May worsen generalized tonic-clonic seizures when used alone in mixed epilepsy; abrupt withdrawal can precipitate absence status.

2 matching product / use records

Celontin capsules
No numeric age limits specified in this label · Maintenance · U.S. label
Absence seizures refractory to other drugs.

Methsuximide capsules (generic)
No numeric age limits specified in this label · Maintenance · U.S. label
Absence seizures refractory to other drugs.

1,4-benzodiazepine: GABA-A positive allosteric modulation

Half-life: Midazolam intranasal: 2.1–6.2 h; active 1-hydroxymidazolam: 2.7–7.2 h

Acute repetitive seizures / seizure clusters · Status epilepticus
Sources: [1] [2] [3]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

3 matching product / use records

Nayzilam nasal spray
12 years and older · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label

Seizalam injection
18 years and older · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label

Midazolam IM autoinjector (10 mg/0.7 mL)
18 years and older · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label
Adult status-epilepticus device; follow its exact professional/caregiver instructions and emergency setting requirements.

1,4-benzodiazepine: GABA-A positive allosteric modulation

Half-life: ~30 h; ~40 h in older adults

Infantile epileptic spasms syndrome (IESS) · Lennox-Gastaut syndrome

No US antiseizure indication · Netherlands label: infantile spasms with hypsarrhythmia; specified absence seizures in Lennox-Gastaut syndrome.

Sources: [1] [2] [3]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

Abrupt withdrawal can provoke seizures. The Dutch label discusses companion anticonvulsants to prevent convulsive seizures; this historical wording is not a general combination recommendation.

1 matching product / use record

Nitrazepam Auro 5 mg tablets · Netherlands
Pediatric epilepsy dosing is supplied; no general numeric age limit is established by the indication · Maintenance · Netherlands label
No US antiseizure indication. Dutch label: infantile spasms with hypsarrhythmia and specified absence seizures in Lennox-Gastaut syndrome. Not a general approval for all absence epilepsies; dosing ages are not indication age limits.

Sodium-channel modulation, predominantly through active MHD

Half-life: Oxcarbazepine: ~2 h; active MHD: ~9 h

Focal seizures
Representative sources: [1] [2] [3]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

May aggravate absence or myoclonic seizures; review syndrome before use (NICE NG217, UK guidance).

3 matching product / use records

Oxcarbazepine IR tablet
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive from 2; monotherapy from 4. XR not mapped.

Trileptal oral suspension
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive use ≥2; monotherapy ≥4 years. 60 mg/mL.

Oxtellar XR
6 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Once-daily extended release; take on an empty stomach.

Noncompetitive postsynaptic AMPA-receptor antagonism

Half-life: ~105 h; shorter with inducers

Focal seizures · Generalized tonic-clonic seizures
Representative source: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

2 matching product / use records

Fycompa tablet/suspension
4 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Fycompa tablet/suspension
12 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive.

Barbiturate-site GABA-A potentiation; prolongs channel openings

Half-life: 53–118 h adults

Focal seizures · Generalized seizures (legacy label) · Neonatal seizures
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

3 matching product / use records

Phenobarbital tablet (legacy labeling)
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · Legacy / unapproved label
Selected product is marketed under legacy/unapproved labeling; listing in DailyMed does not establish FDA approval.

Phenobarbital oral solution — legacy label
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · Legacy / unapproved label
20 mg/5 mL; this product has legacy/unapproved labeling. Check alcohol content.

Sezaby neonatal IV
Term and preterm neonates; confirm neonatal service criteria · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label
FDA-approved for neonatal seizures; loading and short maintenance under neonatal monitoring, not outpatient maintenance. The label does not provide a simple age-only cutoff for this filter; exact-age searches exclude this unmapped record.

Phenytoin: use-dependent sodium-channel inhibition; fosphenytoin is its prodrug

Half-life: Phenytoin ~22 h; nonlinear

Status epilepticus · Focal seizures · Generalized tonic-clonic seizures
Representative sources: [1] [2] [3]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

May aggravate absence or myoclonic seizures; review syndrome before use (NICE NG217, UK guidance).

4 matching product / use records

Cerebyx injection
Exact minimum age not mapped · Rescue / acute treatment · U.S. label
Use mg phenytoin equivalents (PE); pediatric label does not specify a single lower age.

Cerebyx injection
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Short-term oral-phenytoin replacement only. Oral product eligibility requires separate label.

Dilantin sodium extended-release capsules
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Sodium salt; distinguish from oral free-acid formulations.

Phenytoin oral suspension
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
125 mg/5 mL free acid; monitor when switching salt/form.

Bromide-mediated neuronal inhibition; exact mechanism is not established

Half-life: ~12 days (bromide)

Generalized tonic-clonic seizures · Dravet syndrome

No US antiseizure indication · Germany label: tonic-clonic seizures in specified childhood epilepsies, including Dravet syndrome.

Sources: [1] [2]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

The German label states that bromide is ineffective for absence, myoclonic and tonic seizures and may provoke these seizures. The Dravet syndrome listing concerns tonic-clonic seizures.

1 matching product / use record

Kaliumbromid DESITIN 850 mg tablets · Germany
Specified childhood epilepsies; adult continuation permitted when childhood epilepsy persists · Maintenance · Germany label
No US antiseizure indication. German label: tonic-clonic seizures in specified childhood epilepsies, particularly after inadequate response to other treatments. Dravet syndrome is not an indication for every seizure type. Evidence for monotherapy is insufficient.

Glucocorticoid receptor agonist with anti-inflammatory and immunosuppressive effects

Half-life: ~2.6 h plasma

Limited use · infantile epileptic spasms syndrome (IESS)

Infantile epileptic spasms syndrome (IESS)
Sources: [1] [2] [3]
Brand reference: Orapred ODT ↗
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Oral prednisolone · UKISS study regimen
UKISS study population: 2–12 months; not approved age limits · Limited-course therapy · Off-label · UKISS study
Short hormonal course for IESS. UKISS excluded tuberous sclerosis syndrome. This is trial-supported, off-label use, not an FDA-labeled indication.

α2δ calcium-channel-subunit ligand; no direct GABA-receptor agonism

Half-life: ~6.3 h adults

Focal seizures
Representative sources: [1] [2]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

May aggravate absence or myoclonic seizures; review syndrome before use (NICE NG217, UK guidance).

2 matching product / use records

Pregabalin IR capsule
1 month and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive only; oral solution use requires the corresponding product label. CR excluded.

Pregabalin oral solution
1 month and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive focal seizure treatment; weight-dependent dosing, 20 mg/mL.

Converts to two active metabolites: phenobarbital and phenylethylmalonamide (PEMA)

Half-life: Primidone: ~10 h; active phenobarbital: 50–160 h; active PEMA: 10–25 h

Focal seizures · Generalized tonic-clonic seizures
Representative source: [1]
Brand reference: Mysoline ↗
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Primidone tablet
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Label has pediatric schedules but no fixed minimum age.

Sodium-channel modulation; slower recovery from inactivation in vitro

Half-life: 6–10 h

Lennox-Gastaut syndrome
Representative source: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Banzel tablet/suspension
1 year and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Non-benzodiazepine-site GABA-A potentiation plus inhibition of clobazam metabolism

Half-life: 4.5–13 h; regimen/weight-dependent

Dravet syndrome
Sources: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Diacomit capsule/powder
6 months and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Only with clobazam and body weight ≥7 kg.

Carbonic anhydrase inhibitor with antiseizure activity.

Half-life: ~12 h adults; variable

Self-limited epilepsy with centrotemporal spikes (SeLECTS)

No US antiseizure indication · UK label: Rolandic epilepsy / SeLECTS in children and adolescents weighing at least 12 kg.

Sources: [1] [2] [3]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Ospolot 20 mg/mL oral suspension · UK
Children and adolescents weighing at least 12 kg; no numerical minimum age specified · Maintenance · UK label
UK label for Rolandic epilepsy / SeLECTS. Requires an experienced pediatric neurologist; weight must be at least 12 kg. The label notes limited controlled-trial evidence. No US antiseizure indication.

Selective GAT-1 GABA-reuptake inhibition

Half-life: 7–9 h; 2–5 h with inducers

Focal seizures
Representative source: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

May aggravate absence or myoclonic seizures; review syndrome before use (NICE NG217, UK guidance).

1 matching product / use record

Tiagabine tablet
12 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive therapy.

Multiple proposed actions: sodium channels, GABA-A, AMPA/kainate and carbonic anhydrase

Half-life: ~21 h adults

Focal seizures · Generalized tonic-clonic seizures · Lennox-Gastaut syndrome
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

4 matching product / use records

Topamax tablet/sprinkle
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
LGS adjunctive only; focal/PGTC mono or adjunctive. Other products not mapped.

Eprontia oral solution
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Focal/GTCS monotherapy or adjunctive; LGS adjunctive. 25 mg/mL.

Qudexy XR
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Product-specific age/indication schedules; may sprinkle intact beads.

Trokendi XR
6 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Swallow whole; no alcohol within 6 hours before/after.

Discontinued

Proposed T-type calcium-channel inhibition via active metabolite dimethadione

Half-life: Parent 11.8–23.5 h (small age-comparison study); active dimethadione: not quantified here

Absence

Historical refractory-absence indication; Tridione is discontinued in the U.S.

Sources: [1]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

1 matching product / use record

Tridione tablets (Discontinued)
No numeric age limits specified in this label · Maintenance · Discontinued · historical U.S. label
Historical use only after other drugs failed; serious fetal and systemic toxicity.

Multiple proposed mechanisms, including increased GABA availability

Half-life: 9–16 h adult monotherapy

Focal seizures · Absence
Representative sources: [1] [2] [3] [4]
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

8 matching product / use records

Depakote DR
10 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Complex focal approval from age 10; absence age boundaries require product-specific review.

Depakote ER
10 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label

Depakote DR
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Absence label does not specify the same fixed minimum as complex focal labeling; exact lower age not mapped.

Depakote ER
10 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Age ≥10 in ER epilepsy labeling.

Valproic acid oral solution
10 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Product-specific schedule; absence minimum age not mapped.

Valproic acid oral solution
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Product-specific schedule; absence minimum age not mapped.

Valproate sodium IV replacement
10 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Temporary alternative when oral therapy is not feasible; not a status-loading approval.

Valproate sodium IV replacement
Exact minimum age not mapped · Maintenance · U.S. label
Temporary alternative when oral therapy is not feasible; not a status-loading approval.

Irreversible GABA transaminase inhibition

Half-life: ~10.5 h adults; effect lasts longer

Infantile epileptic spasms syndrome (IESS) · Focal seizures
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

May aggravate absence or myoclonic seizures; review syndrome before use (NICE NG217, UK guidance).

3 matching product / use records

Vigabatrin powder for oral solution
1 month and older (through 2 years) · Maintenance · U.S. label
Monotherapy when benefits outweigh vision risk.

Vigabatrin tablet
2 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Refractory adjunctive therapy; not first line.

Vigafyde ready-to-use solution
1 month and older (through 2 years) · Maintenance · U.S. label
100 mg/mL, twice the concentration of reconstituted powder. REMS and vision monitoring apply.

Proposed sodium- and T-type calcium-channel effects; carbonic anhydrase inhibition

Half-life: ~63 h plasma

Focal seizures
Brand reference: Zonegran capsules ↗
Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

2 matching product / use records

Zonegran capsules
Adults · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive treatment of partial (focal) seizures in adults. The Zonegran indication specifies adults; Zonisade has a separate indication from age 16 years.

Zonisade suspension
16 years and older · Maintenance · U.S. label
Adjunctive only.